Welcome to CSS

One of the first 16 Universities in India, the University of Kerala founded in the year 1937, is considered as the “mother university” in the State of Kerala. The University bagged the Indira Gandhi National Award for the best NSS activities in 2005; the UNESCO-NLM award for literacy in 2005; State Govt’s award for eGovernance in 2010 and the first Chancellor’s Award for the best University in the State of Kerala in 2015. The University has been re- accredited by NAAC with ‘A’ grade since 2015. It was placed 22 nd in the country in the NIRF (National Institutional Ranking Framework) in 2019 and 23 rd in 2020. The forty-three departments of teaching and research are organized as eleven schools, and most of them are housed in the Karyavattom campus. Teaching, research, expertise and extension are the mandates of the departments. They primarily focus on post-graduate (Masters) programmes, MPhil programmes (1-year research degree started in 1973), doctoral (PhD) and post-doctoral programmes.

The Office of the Credit and Semester System (CSS) coordinates the admissions and all academic activities of the Post Graduate, MPhil, PhD and Post-Doctoral programmes conducted by the various departments under the University of Kerala.